From Moegirlpedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Moegirlpedia would welcome your assistance in improving this article☆Kira~

As you read this article, you're welcome to participate in editing this page. Before editing, please read the wiki quickstart, edit guidelines and retrieve relevant information.

We wish you a good time on Moegirlpedia.
Spyro logo.png
Original Name
Translation Name
Developed by Insomniac Games (1998-2000)
Digital Eclipse (2001-2003)
Equinoxe Digital Entertainment (2002)
Check Six Studios (2002)
Vicarious Visions (2004)
Eurocom (2004)
Amaze Entertainment (2005-2007)
Krome Studios (2006-2007)
Étranges Libellules (2008)
Tantalus Media (2008)
Toys for Bob (2018)
Published by Sony Computer Entertainment (1998-2000)
Vivendi Games (2001-2007)
Activision (2008-present)
First game Spyro the Dragon
(September 10, 1998)
Latest game Spyro: Reignited Trilogy
(November 13, 2018)

The Spyro series is a platformer video game series developed by Insomniac Games, The first game in the series, Spyro the Dragon, was released on the PlayStation in 1998, developed by Insomniac Games and published by Sony Computer Entertainment. Currently, the series is owned by Activision after purchasing the rights to the character in 2007.


Almost all of the games take place in the Dragon World, which is divided into five realms: Artisans, Peace Keepers, Magic Crafters, Beast Makers, and Dream Weavers. Spyro lives in the Artisan's World. The Dragon Realm is constantly threatened, and Spyro must protect it from evil. There is also a sixth realm, which is the home of Gnasty Gnorc.

Spyro's popularity reached a notable height, creating two separate series, each in a different universe and starring a reimagined version of Spyro: One is The Legend of Spyro, a more dramatic reboot, and the Skylanders series.[1]

Spyro is one of the iconic characters of the PlayStation alongside Crash Bandicoot; Spyro and Crash also traveled to each other's worlds and fought together sometimes.


Title (NA/EU) Console Release Date
Spyro the Dragon PlayStation September 10, 1998
Spyro 2: Ripto's Rage!
Spyro 2: Gateway to Glimmer
PlayStation November 2, 1999
Spyro: Year of the Dragon PlayStation October 24, 2000
Spyro: Season of Ice Game Boy Advance November 7, 2001
Spyro 2: Season of Flame Game Boy Advance September 5, 2002
Spyro: Attack of the Rhynocs
Spyro Adventure
Game Boy Advance October 23, 2003
Spyro Orange: The Cortex Conspiracy
Spyro Fusion
Game Boy Advance June 5, 2004
Spyro: Enter the Dragonfly PlayStation 2, Nintendo GameCube November 5, 2002
Spyro: A Hero's Tail Nintendo GameCube, PlayStation 2, Xbox November 9, 2004
Spyro: Shadow Legacy Nintendo DS October 18, 2005
Spyro: Reignited Trilogy PlayStation 4, Xbox One November 13, 2018